Whitehorse Facts

Motto: "Our People, Our Strength"


Surrounded by mountains, Whitehorse is the capital and largest city in the Yukon. Whitehorse is on the Teslin River, which is a tributary of the Yukon River in the Southern Yukon. The city was founded in 1898 when gold was found near present-day Whitehorse. Today, Whitehorse has a population of just over 26,000 people. Whitehorse is on the Peel River, which has a history of gold mining.

15:05 mins video of Whitehorse

  • 1. The name "Whitehorse" comes from a trading post and fort established in 1867, called Fort Selkirk. Fort Selkirk was named for Lord Selkirk, who founded the first permanent settlement in Yukon, called Fort Selkirk (present-day Haines).
  • 2. Whitehorse started getting called the "Big 'Horse" in 1907.
  • 3. And in 1911, they officially started calling it "Whitehorse."
  • 4. Whitehorse was incorporated as a city in 1950.
  • 5. The City of Whitehorse has three main census agglomerations: Carcross, Faro and South Klondike.
  • 6. The largest census agglomeration is South Klondike, with a population of 1,094 people living there in January 2016, up from 1,077 people in 2011, and 910 people in 2006 and 875 people in 2001.
  • 7. Whitehorse's current mayor is Dan Curtis; he took office on December 10th, 2016.
  • 8. It is home to Dawson City's newspaper, the Yukon News. The Yukon News is the oldest newspaper in the Yukon. The Yukon News has been serving Dawson City and the Yukon since 1898.
  • 9. Whitehorse's average high temperature in July is 21°C (70°F), and it has an average low temperature of -19°C (-2.6°F).
  • 10. The city's economy relies on tourism and its exports. Whitehorse is also home to Yukon University, which has over 1,800 students.
  • 11. The total land area in the City of Whitehorse is 11.6 km2 (4.5 sq mi).
  • 12. In 2017, there were 26,045 people living in Whitehorse. This is an increase from 2011 when there were 24,930 people living there.